Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

December 1, 2015

Scroll to top


Link's Awakening - The Legend of Zelda Link's Awakening

links awakening

Link’s Awakening DX

The Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening is the 4th entry into the Zelda franchise, and the first handheld game for the series. Link’s Awakening was released onto the Nintendo Gameboy on June 6, 1993 in Japan and December 31, 1993 in North America. Despite the fact that the game was a smaller monochrome handheld game, Link’s Awakening contributed a lot to the series. For instance, it was the first top-view Zelda game where Link could jump. Despite having little to do with A Link to the Past, Link’s Awakening is considered a direct sequel, taking place shortly after.

In contrast to most Zelda games, Link’s Awakening does not take place in Hyrule, revolve around the Triforce, mention Ganon, or involve rescuing Zelda. The game takes place on Koholint Island. In order for Link to escape the island he must find the Instruments of the Sirens, which are then used to awaken the Wind Fish when played.

A remake of Link’s Awakening was released onto the Gameboy Color in 1998. The remake had additional content including compatibility with the Gameboy Printer, a new color-based dungeon, and of course colored sprites.

Link’s Awakening was highly successful and sold more than 4,000,000 copies. Despite being a technically restrained Gameboy game, Link’s Awakening has received rave reviews and is often listed in “top 100 game” publications.